Anatomical Pathology

The Department of Anatomical Pathology at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne is NATA and RCPA accredited to provide a comprehensive range of histopathology and cytopathology services, as well as solid tumour molecular testing by fluorescence in situ hybridisation and Next Generation Sequencing (NGS). 

Our Services

  • Full range of Histopathology and Cytopathology services
  • Expert Opinion
  • Frozen Sections
  • Retrieval of Diagnostic Material
  • FNA Service
  • Immunohistochemistry and Immunofluorescence
  • Molecular Testing - FISH and NGS
  • Clinical Trials and Contract Research
  • Mortuary Service

Frozen Section:
Frozen section are performed at our Fitzroy laboratory site during normal working hours (8am to 6pm)
All frozen sections should be booked with the laboratory in advance by calling 9231 4578

Expert Opinion:
Our areas of expertise include bone and soft tissue, neuropathology, eye, skin, breast, lung, lymphoma and GI. To request a consult on your case, please download the Expert Opinion Request Form and forward the completed form together with your slides to the Department of Anatomical Pathology.

Expert Opinion Request Form


Retrieval of Diagnostic Material:
We offer retrieval of diagnostic material service for additional testing. Please fill in the diagnostic material consent form and please send to the Department to Anatomical Pathology.

Retrieval of Diagnostic Material Request Form 

Molecular Testing:

We offer somatic molecular testing by Fluorescence in situ Hybridisation and Next Generation Sequencing (NGS).
Please download the Molecular Request Form and forward the form together with the tissue sample to the Molecular Laboratory - Department of Anatomical Pathology.  

SVHM Molecular Testing Request Form

For any general molecular enquiries please contact +61 3 9231 1049 or email Molecular@svha.org.au 


Fine Needle Aspirate (FNA) Bookings:
Our Cytology scientists are able to attend FNA procedures between the hours of 8:30am - 4pm.
Please contact the laboratory on +61 3 9231 4098 to make a booking for attendance. At least one day's notice prior to procedure is required for bookings.

Our Team

Director of Anatomical Pathology:

A/Prof Trishe Y-M Leong
Ph: +61 3 9231 4290
Trishe.Leong@svha.org.au


Our Anatomical Pathologists:


Laboratory Contact Details:

Histopathology
Atha Palios
Principal Scientist
Ph: +61 3 9231 4289
Atha.Palios@svha.org.au

Shou Chen
2nd in charge
Ph: +61 3 9231 4012
Shou.Chen@svha.org.au

Cytopathology
Kerryn Jones
Supervising Clinical Scientist
Ph: +61 3 9231 4114
Kerryn.Jones@svha.org.au

Huong Pham
2nd in charge
Ph: +61 3 9231 2238
Huong.Pham@svha.org.au

Molecular
Dr. Hongdo Do
Supervising Clinical Scientist
Ph: +61 3 9231 4561
Molecular@svha.org.au

Secretaries
Kerryn Stafford
Office Supervisor
Ph: +61 3 9231 4290
Kerryn.Stafford@svha.org.au

Mortuary
Richard Athuam
Mortuary Attendant
Ph: +61 3 9231 4113
Richard.Athuam@svha.org.au

 

For general enquiries please contact us on:
Ph: +61 3 9231 4583
Fax: +61 3 9231 4580
Email: AnatPathOffice@svha.org.au